RSS Feed

Joyfully Chaotic Daybook

Posted on

Outside My WindowBrrrrrr….COLD!!   A few of the kids just left for a run – I think they may just be a bit crazy – afflicted with cabin fever I’m sure.

I am thinking… So many things swimming around my head….My friend Liz and her new baby William.  House stuff. (surprise surprise)  Extended family issues,  redecorating,  on and on….

I am thankful… For good health.     Everyone around us seems to have some kind of respiratory or stomach issue.  (Bridget?  Are you all okay??)  We have had nothing (yet!) but a runny nose here and there.   Deo Gratias!  (I don’t believe in jinxing….I say with my fingers crossed!)

From the kitchen… At this moment,  Abby is making muffins from our leftover oatmeal.   They are eating them faster than she can make them!  After lunch I plan to make this weeks bread.  For dinner,  we will have Hoppin’ John.  Interesting tidbit,  each year on New Years,  we have sauerkraut.  German tradition says this will make for a financially good year.    This year at the market,  I noticed not only sauerkraut on sale,  but black-eyed peas.   Not thinking anything of it I picked up a few cans.  I came home and hit allrecipes.com  – come to find out eating black-eyed peas on New Years is also a tradition!  Explains the sale!

I am wearing…A khaki linen skirt, and a  navy blue sweater layered over a pink tee.

I am creating… I am crocheting a baby hat for Miss Celia.  She had a fancy feather hat that caused a stir among all the ladies at church.    Unfortunately babies grow so fast…it no longer fits her.    I packed it away yesterday,  in hopes that a younger sister may sport it some day.

I am reading… The Little Office of the Blessed Virgin Mary This is the core of my prayer life right now.

I am hearing…The regular lunchtime banter.

One of my favorite things…Snuggling with the baby in the middle of the night.   When there is just enough light for me to see the outline of her chubby little body. I love listening to her breathe while she gulps down my milk.  I love pulling the blankets up over her shoulders and nuzzling her into my chest and hearing her sigh as she falls back to sleep.

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week… Drum lessons, house cleaning, grocery shopping,  Goretti Girls with Abby,    piano lessons,  mass,  reading lessons, and whatever else God may have planned for us!

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

My little bed bug!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

About Lisbet

We are a Catholic homeschooling family of 13. (so far!) We are devoted to our Lord and our faith, open to the blessings of children, and enjoy learning and growing together in our joyfully chaotic home.

7 responses »

  1. She’s so beautiful! It’s good to “see” you, Lisa! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Celia is just beautiful, I can’t believe all that hair. Tell my nieces and nephews that snow is best when looked at from a warm living room with a big mug of hot chocolate. I appreciate the brrr…we are at 29 degrees with 7 inches of snow. It’s TN, there isn’t supposed to be any snow. *pout*. Love and hugs to all.

    Reply
  3. Your baby is beautiful. I missed your blogging and your beautiful family. Welcome back.

    Did you have pork on New Years’ Day with your sauerkraut? We always have the two together – pork because pigs root forward for food which is supposed to bring you good luck going forward. Not that I’m suspicious, but I’m not taking any chances…..

    Reply
  4. We are fine. Maria had a nasty UTI that landed us in the ER Sat. night. I think everyone is healthy now. Dare we make plans?

    I am so glad to see you blogging!

    Reply
  5. Oops, not suspicious, but superstitious.

    Reply
  6. I am so glad to see you blogging again! I love to come here and read about your beautiful family. Baby Celia is beautiful!

    Reply
  7. Lisa, this is so beautiful! I especially love the description of you nursing and snuggling with your little one…that is exactly how I feel too. I love the Little Office. It has become so very familiar to me and I find that I have memorized parts of scripture without even knowing it. It is a comfort to recall the words whenever I have a quiet moment…Yes, do have quiet at times…LOL….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

