RSS Feed

A Simple Woman’s Daybook

Posted on

August 26, 2010

I am really hoping to get back to this blog.    It has been nearly a year since I have posted anything.    So much has happened in that time,  little of it seemed proper to share in such a public forum.  I have ‘kept all these things in memory’.   I do miss the creative outlet that blogging brings.  I thought I’d ease back in with a new Daybook entry.

Outside My WindowIt is a cool morning.   We kept the windows open during the night and I had to rummage through the closet for a sweater this morning.   It is still very dark and the stirring of traffic is just beginning.

I am thinking… I am going to have to do a big closet purge before long and pull out the jeans and sweatshirts for the children.

I am thankful… I have so much to be thankful for,  though I oftentimes let that get muddled by my selfishness.  Today I am very thankful for my husband’s job.  A recent change of employer has given him the opportunity to work from home most of the time.  While we are adjusting,  it is very nice to have him here.

From the kitchen… Oh my.  My kitchen.  I have been ‘in transition’ for nearly a year,  and now I am beginning to nest a bit.  I am so frustrated with my kitchen.  But,  we must eat.  So the pantry and fridge are full,  as is the deep freezer in the basement, and the menu is posted on the fridge.   Today we will enjoy some creamy oatmeal for breakfast and whatever is on the menu for lunch and dinner.

I am wearing…Pink and white jammie bottoms,  white top that looks like a tent covering my belly,  and a cozy brown sweater.

I am creating… A baby!  I have been blessed to say that many times over the years.  We are excited and blessed to be preparing for our eleventh precious little one,  due to arrive in November.    We have no plans on finding out the gender.  Mama and baby are healthy and growing nicely.  Deo Gratias!

I am reading… I am not doing much reading right now.  I am in planning mode for the beginning of our upcoming school year.    We have made a few changes to our typical plan.  The three oldest children are enrolled in a great homeschool enrichment program in Ann Arbor.  Two days a week my 10th grader, 8th grader, and 6th grader will be attending St. Augustine’s.   It is the perfect hybrid of homeschooling and school – school in a solidly Catholic, academically challenging,  Christ centered environment.  What a blessing to be a part of this program.  At home,  I will have a 5th grader, 3rd grader, 2nd grader, K’er,  and three little ones,  plus a newborn in November.    We be loosely following lessons plans from Catholic Heritage Curricula.  CHC was the first Catholic homeschooling resource I was introduced to many years ago and it has been my ‘go to’ resource since.  I have never been disappointed.

I am hearing… The buzz of the refrigerator,   traffic just outside the open window,  and the jingle of the dogs tags on her collar coming from the backyard.  I am the only one up and the house is dark and quiet.

One of my favorite things…The challenge and blessing of having babies, teenagers, and every age in between in our family.  I do stress that it is a challenge,  and I do find myself complaining about that challenge.   It is a blessing though,  and I am treasuring it all that I can.

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week… Hard to believe that the week is winding down again already.  Today we are celebrating Mark Benedict’s third birthday.    The girls have piano lessons this afternoon and everyone from the 7 year old on up have Cross Country practice tonight.  Tony is looking at a house tonight that we both have some hope for.    The local schools are back in session as of today – we will celebrate homeschooling tomorrow by meeting a few families for mass and then a picnic at the park.

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

Mama and Markie on a walk during a recent camping trip.  I can’t believe this little guy is three years old already.   He is a pure joy!

May God Bless the rest of your week!!

About Lisbet

We are a Catholic homeschooling family of 13. (so far!) We are devoted to our Lord and our faith, open to the blessings of children, and enjoy learning and growing together in our joyfully chaotic home.

12 responses »

  1. nice to see you back!

    Reply
  2. The entry was so peaceful and serene. What is most beautiful is that you are grateful for all you have; the good and the challenges. Welcome back mama!

    Reply
  3. Lovely, Lisa. : ) Love your blog header too. We have that same set of stations framed in our hallway. Or we did. Need to hang them here. Are those votive holders beneath?

    Reply
  4. So nice to see you “back”! I’ve been checking every few months!

    Reply
  5. I check you blog often to see if you post..so glad to see you back..glad to hear of your healthy pregnancy. Love reading about your beautiful family

    Reply
  6. So good to have you back. Congratulations on your baby.

    Reply
  7. I’m so glad you are back! I’ve missed your blogging. You inspire me! God bless you and your family!

    Reply
  8. Lisa,
    I never realized you were in Ann Arbor. I happened upon your blog long ago and some how made it back when I wanted to find out how to use the baby wrap. When I saw your picture I thought you looked so much like a family I know from Ann Arbor. Have you heard of the Perrotta family from that area. You look so much like them, 🙂

    Reply
  9. lisa-

    So glad you’re back! love your blog.
    Hope you can make it to Joey’s party on Sun.

    Reply
  10. Beautiful post! Not long now! Congratulations!

    ~Rebecca

    Reply
  11. I’m so glad you decided to blog again. It is a great way to keep up on the nieces and nephews. I’ve missed it. It was like getting to talk to you every week. I’m happy that the “chaos” has settled enough you can get back to it. Hugs to all.

    Reply
  12. welcome back! n congrats on the new bub….love reading about your family n how u cope with so many kids! u are an inspiration….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

