RSS Feed

Treasuring the Chaos

Posted on

  I have so enjoyed being part of Peggy’s Simple Woman’s Daybook. It has really helped me to look back over my days and see them as more than the blur that they sometimes seem to be. I have long been contemplating how I can make it more ‘my own’, more unique to our family and the wonderful commotion that surrounds me. I have come up with the following:

Treasuring This Fleeting Moment

Keeping us busy this week: We have been keeping busy in the yard this week, cleaning out flower beds, planting our herb garden, and preparing to get the veggies in this weekend.

I wish I had their energy: It amazes me that we can spend the entire day outside, working, playing, keeping very busy in the sunshine, and the little kids always get a major second wind at bedtime!

Life lesson learned: Our 15 passenger van does not fit in the visitors parking garage at the local hospital.

One day I will look back and laugh: My husband worked so hard to put a new back door on our house last week. The job took a few days so we only had a tarp for a back door during that time. One day I may actually look back and laugh at the night I woke up to find a big stray tomcat in our bed at 4 a.m.

I never thought I’d hear myself say: Take the Gorilla Tape off of your sister’s feet!!!

What was he thinking?: I was washing dishes one afternoon when Mark toddled up behind me with his sister’s shoe in his hand, saying “shoe shoe”. I said, “yep, that’s Molly’s shoe, please put it back in the closet.” He then said ” kay “, and promptly tossed it in the sink full of dishwater.

One day I know I will miss: I’m sure one day I will miss having 6 people in one bed.

Kid ‘ism’ of the week: Henry asked me why he has such hairy eyebrowns.  Not eyebrows,  but eyebrowns.

Remember the time: When Abigail was about five years old, she was meandering around the house with her pointer finger tapping her cheek saying, “hmmmmm”. I asked her what she was doing and she said she was pretending to be Wonderwoman.

I hope to always remember: The little yodle sound that Mark makes when he brings me his blanket and climbs into my lap to nurse.

This very moment around me: There are two big kids at the table beside me scurrying to finish their school work for the year.  Mary, Sam, and Henry are trying to play Clue while Molly and Mark are just ‘watching’.   Isaac is reading his third Boxcar Children book this week. Gabe is next door tending to the neighbors mastiff while they are gone.  Greta is blowing baby slobber bubbles while sitting in my lap.

Picture of the moment: Mary Katherine received her first Holy  Communion on Mothers Day!

small_Picture 551

About Lisbet

We are a Catholic homeschooling family of 13. (so far!) We are devoted to our Lord and our faith, open to the blessings of children, and enjoy learning and growing together in our joyfully chaotic home.

6 responses »

  1. Congrats to Mary Katherine!!

    I like this format for your daybook. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love how you made this daybook uniquely your own.
    Good job! 🙂

    Reply
  3. I really enjoy the personal touch of the new daybook. Congrats to Mary Katherine! You look beautiful sweetie!

    Reply
  4. This is great….I love reading about your family.

    Reply
  5. One night we had a cat drop down the hatch right onto me in the aft berth. I really, nearly, had a heart attack!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

