RSS Feed

A Simple Woman’s Daybook

Posted on

For Today ~ Tuesday May 20 2008

Outside my Window… It is very early in the morning, the sun isn’t even thinking of rising yet. It’s very dark.

I am thinking…about how I wish I could get back to sleep. I woke to nurse the baby and simply could not fall back asleep. I prayed a rosary, and I laid there, but sleep simply would not come.

I am thankful for…Friends of like minds, the prayers and support that we offer one another. They add such sweetness to life.

From the kitchen…a steamy mug of coffee. Same as last week, I know. May explain why sleep is so elusive…

I am creating…A mental menu for the week with the things I bought at ALDIS yesterday.

I am going…to take our daughters to have lunch with dad at work today. I took the two little boys last week. I’ll take the girls this week, the two middle boys next week, and then the oldest boy the following week.

I am wearing…A pink and white flowered nightgown, red fuzzy slippers, and a brown blanket around my shoulders.

I am reading… All the wonderful enteries from The Simple Woman’s Daybook.

I am hoping…for a sunny day today. I could stand to soak up some sunshine, as could my children, tomatoes, and the baby diapers! 🙂

I am hearing…The hum of the fish tank behind me. It is eerrilie quiet in the house this early in the morning!

Around the house…stacks of the childrens school books and papers ready to be looked over and filed away.

One of my favorite things…The anticipation of a long holiday weekend.

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…I still need to renew those drivers license. I need to start packing away school books after our first (and most likely last!) ‘school at home’ year, make campsite reservations for the boys whitewater rafting trip next month, plan an ‘at home’ date with my husband, wash and press a suit for Isaac’s First Holy Communion this coming Sunday, and purge the little boys’ bedroom.

A picture worth sharing
What can I say ~ this is where MB hangs out most of the time. The older kids say silly things like: “Mom, you have a Mark on your back”. They are SO funny! 🙂

About Lisbet

We are a Catholic homeschooling family of 13. (so far!) We are devoted to our Lord and our faith, open to the blessings of children, and enjoy learning and growing together in our joyfully chaotic home.

8 responses »

  1. Prayers for Isaac this weekend!

    Your kids are funny. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Did you say that you will not return to home schooling or just less formal education methods?

    Reply
  3. YIKE!! I could see how one would think that! We used a boxed curriculum this year for the first time ever – and more than likely (I never say never anymore!) the last time we will ever use one – that’s what I ment!

    Reply
  4. Congrats to Isaac. My daughters made their FHC on 5/3. It was so wonderful. Every Sunday after is just as wonderful.

    Can you share what an “at home” date with your husband might be?

    Reply
  5. Who is the boy with the baby on his back? Do babies like being in a pack like that? Just wondering.

    Reply
  6. Um, Clare, that’s ME with the baby on my back….and yes, he loves it there.

    Reply
  7. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Blockhead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

