RSS Feed

Called to Serve

Posted on

  My second son served at the altar last night.  He was beaming.  He was reverent.  He was so happy.    I am so proud of him.  My oldest son served also.  They were together,  aiding Christ’s priest.  I teared up many times.  Two of my sons.    I realized that by the time Markie is old enough to serve,  Nicholas will be twenty two years old.  I made him promise to serve then too,  so all of my sons can serve together.  I will be a blubbering mess when that day comes. 

About Lisbet

We are a Catholic homeschooling family of 13. (so far!) We are devoted to our Lord and our faith, open to the blessings of children, and enjoy learning and growing together in our joyfully chaotic home.

6 responses »

  1. Watching your children serve at the altar is moving, I had all three serve many times. But wait until the day they stop serving comes that is equally moving but heart breaking. My oldest son served until he was 20 years old and left to serve in the ultimate way, with the Marines.

    Reply
  2. Here’s to happy tears!

    Reply
  3. That’s beautiful! You must be very proud.

    Reply
  4. Lisbet
    I can soo relate. My three boys serve together and I’m such a proud mamma. I teared up the first time, they just shook their heads at their ‘weird mum’.

    Reply
  5. My oldest is just now old enough to serve. He began training this week, and since our parish is so small he’ll be serving (with another experienced server) by the end of the month! My youngest son is already talking about when they’ll be serving together someday – definitely a “tear-jerker” for this sentimental mama… 🙂

    Reply
  6. How wonderful!! I am always so proud seeing my boys on the altar!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

