RSS Feed

Another Chilling Anniversary

Posted on

542401bwoman-praying-with-rosary-beads-posters.jpg Thirty-five years.  Today I will pray for my birth parents, that chose life over death.  I will pray for my adoptive parents that opened their hearts to me.  I will pray for every pregnant woman, no matter what her situation,  that she is shown compassion, support, and the infinite power of God’s gifts  of  grace and mercy.  I will pray for fathers-to-be,  that they come to realize and embrace the awesome and holy responsibility of fatherhood.  I will pray for abortion providers,  that their hearts be turned to truly providing help and care to the mothers and babies that come to them,  rather than  violence and death.  I will pray that as a country we will stand up and admit that for thirty-five years we have given murder a name and legal status,  and that we can admit that we we’re gravely wrong,  repent, and change our ways. 

  “For the sake of His sorrowful passion,  have mercy on us and on the whole world.”

About Lisbet

We are a Catholic homeschooling family of 13. (so far!) We are devoted to our Lord and our faith, open to the blessings of children, and enjoy learning and growing together in our joyfully chaotic home.

11 responses »

  1. I’m always grateful that my mother, who was raped, chose to give me life. She’s the greatest.

    Reply
  2. Jennifer Borgstahl

    How beautiful and well said Lisa!!
    I am praying for my four oldest childrens birth parents and Thanking our Lord that they too, had the courage to say yes to life and bring His gifts to me. I am sure your parents are doing the same for your birth parents. What a gift they recieved with you as their daughter.

    Love and Blessings to you all. We miss you!!

    Jennifer B.

    Reply
  3. From your mouth to God’s ears.

    Thank you God for my children’s birthmothers, Shelley, may she rest in peace, and Debbie for choosing life for my wonderful children.

    Reply
  4. I very much admire your brave, magnanimous and loving words.

    Well said indeed.

    Stu

    Reply
  5. I rejoice with you, your parents were very brave! Even though I am Canadian, I always watch the Walk for Life and am very encouraged that the world has not completely lost it’s mind.

    I think that those of us who were born after 1973 realize that all of our existences were threatened. As none of us were “people”, and could have been eliminated by someone’s choice.

    May God bless you,
    Rebecca ~Mom to 8 under 10!

    Reply
  6. Dear Lisbet,
    I enjoy reading your blog and have never been moved to comment until today. After reading your post, I am moved to ask for your prayers. Yesterday, my daughters co-teacher gave birth 8 weeks prematurely. She is 38 and this is her first. She and her husband experienced years of infertitiy and had given up on the thought of their own child. They have 2 adopted children. This little guy is holding his own at 3lbs in NICU. Also in NICU of the same hospital is a baby of my daighter’s student, an 8th grade girl whose water broke on the bus on Monday and she delivered a 1.8lb baby boy by csection. He was due in April. Both of these little guys are fighting hard, and I ask for your prayers for them, and ask for all the young mothers in this Catholic blog world to pray. Though these little guys are from two totally different circumstances, they deserve a chance at this life if that is God’s will. Thank you, Lisbet.

    Reply
  7. Dear Lori, Please know that I will be praying for both of these precious new souls. What miracles they are!

    Reply
  8. Thank you, Lisbet. You truly are a shining example of our Lord’s love. God bless you and your family.

    Reply
  9. I am truly thankful for the courage of my husband’s parents. They were told he would be blind, never talk, never walk – the doctors wanted him aborted, but his parents refused. He ended up being born 2 months early in 1975, and though his life wasn’t easy, he didn’t have any of the problems the doctors were so sure he would have. He ended up graduating from high school a year early, and it now working on his Master’s Degree – not to mention living the life of a wonderful husband and father. I am very grateful that his parents were willing to let him live despite what the experts told them.
    ~Jenny

    Reply
  10. Well said. Happy belated birthday – we share the same birthday (day and year)! My husband was adopted (he was born in 1964), and is very aware that had this happened a few years later he would almost certainly have been aborted.
    May you have a holy and peaceful Lent. ~ Kate

    Reply

Leave a Reply

