RSS Feed

Front Wrap Cross Carry Tutorial

Posted on

We are using a wrap made of hemp jersey.  It is slightly stretchy,  a bit like a sweatshirt. 

Again,  first you find the center:

small_picture-1160.jpg

This time you place the center at your belly button and open it up:

small_picture-1161.jpg

Bring one side around your back and over the opposite shoulder:

small_picture-1162.jpg

Do the same with the other side,  crossing the wrap at your back.  Try not to bunch it up or twist it or it will be uncomfortable once you place the baby in:

small_picture-1163.jpgsmall_picture-1164.jpg

You’ll probably need to make a slight adjustment here to keep the wrap snug,  pulling it up over each shoulder more and keeping the center against your body.  You will have both ends of the wrap hanging over your shoulders.  The center of the wrap will be around your waist,  much like a cumberbund.

small_picture-1165.jpg

Gather up both ends of the wrap in one hand and with the other pull the ‘cumberbund’ slightly away from your body.  Place the ends of the wrap through the ‘cumberbund’.  The ends will then be the part of the wrap closest to your body,  with the ‘cumberbund’ over them.  Keep it all snug to your body. 

small_picture-1166.jpgsmall_picture-1167.jpg

small_picture-1168.jpg\

At this point you will cross the ends of the wrap at your front,  keeping the ‘X’ just above your belly button.  Bring them around to your back and tie it in  a knot.  I prefer to tie it just off to the side so it’s not in my way when I sit down.    If the wrap is long enough,  you can bring it back around to the front and tie it there.  You NEVER want the ends of the wrap to hang down past your knees after it is tied,  this would pose a tripping hazard.

small_picture-1169.jpgsmall_picture-1170.jpg

small_picture-1171.jpg

Now you are ready to place the baby in the wrap.  Pick up the baby and with one hand hold her (hey Gracie! 😉 ) high up on your shoulder.  With your other hand pull the ‘X’ out and away from your body.  This is where you will place the baby.

small_picture-1173.jpg

For a tiny baby,  keep her legs tucked underneath her and and tuck her into the pouch created by the ‘X’  For a bigger baby like MB,  you will put one leg in each ‘hole’ created by the ‘X’.   Another option is to lay the baby sideways in a cradle position created when you spread the ‘X’ out.   This is great for discreet, hands free nursing.  (like when you need to push a shopping cart and such.)

small_picture-1174.jpgsmall_picture-1175.jpg

small_picture-1176.jpg

You could consider yourself done at this point and go along on your way.  But for extra security and support,  pull the ‘cumberbund’ from underneath the baby and pull it up over top. 

small_picture-1178.jpg

And here you have a truely secure hands free snuggle carry!

small_picture-1179.jpgsmall_picture-1180.jpg

*If MB were to fall asleep here  (which he did NOT,  since it had been an entire 10 minutes since he last nursed and he was simply famished!)  I would pull the wrap up and around his shoulders and over his head. 

*Please remember when you are carrying a baby on the front of your body that is is not safe to cook over a hot stove.  Chopping onions is not the best idea either!  And be sure to watch baby’s head when closing rear van doors. 

Hope this helps!

Much Love,

Lisa and Mark

*photo credits go to Abigail!

About Lisbet

We are a Catholic homeschooling family of 13. (so far!) We are devoted to our Lord and our faith, open to the blessings of children, and enjoy learning and growing together in our joyfully chaotic home.

15 responses »

  1. great help! So, which wrap is this? Or did you make it? Is it one you can use for toddlers to? I saw someone at the co-op the other day strap a 2 year old to her back with a wrap, it was cool!

    Reply
  2. Great tutorial! I always love to see other baby wearing moms out there. Good tip on the van doors lol (when I first discovered slings I admit I once bumped baby into a door jam not realizing how much girth baby added to me. thankfully he was uninjured!)

    Reply
  3. Ok, sorry, I scrolled down and saw your back carry post. 🙂

    Reply
  4. This is just what I waiting for. You did a great job with this. Thank you so much, Lisa.

    Reply
  5. Oh you make me long for a sweet baby to hold!!!

    Reply
  6. That is sooo cute and makes me want a little baby again 🙂
    Blessings,
    Debbie aka The Real World Martha

    Reply
  7. Thanks for sharing Lisa! Hope to see you on JM soon. I miss your great posts.

    Reply
  8. That helps! I have a long heavy gauze fabric remnant I wrap with. I had the criss-cross going over the front piece though. I like your way better. I far prefer these to shoulder slings which I can only tolerate for reeeeally short trips.

    Reply
  9. So what are the dimensions of this piece of fabric? Im very challenged when it comes to spacial concepts…and Id like to make one of these for my little one when he or she arrives.

    Reply
  10. Ok, so I hope one day to need this tutorial!!!!

    Reply
  11. I used one of those with my boyo. 🙂 worked a charm…at least until he decided he wanted to start carrying 5 (yes FIVE) stuffies with him too! 🙂

    Reply
  12. We are expecting our second baby in September, and I am very interested in wraps and such! I have a Baby Bjorn which I used for our first, and she loved it, but wraps offer easy transportability and versatility. Do I just buy some fabric or is there a place I can purchase one of these beauties? 🙂
    Thanks!!

    Reply
  13. I gave you an Excellent Blog award for this post. Check it out! ~blessings, Guinever

    Reply
  14. This is a wonderful tutorial! I have linked hundreds of people to online FWCC tutorials and I just stumbled upon this one today. It is the best I have seen in a long time. Awesome job momma! 🙂

    Reply
  15. Pingback: Birthing with Guinever » mother of 5 talks about her baby carriers

Leave a Reply

