RSS Feed

Pregnancy Ponderings

Posted on

     I am reaching that point in pregnancy where I am begining to turn more and more toward the child within me and preparing him, and myself, for the impending journey.  I am nearly 35 weeks.     Molly appeared early at 36 weeks.  We will never know if her respitory issues at birth resulted from her early arrival or from the circumstances surrounding her delivery.  I know for sure is that I do not want to go down that road ever again.  I will admit,  part of me is concerned about going into labor early again.  There is no reason for me to think it will happen,  Out of 8 children only one has come before 37 weeks.  I am healthy,  young, and strong.    When I was in early labor with Molly I ignored it.  I thought it was just a more intense bought of braxton-hicks contractions that can be hard on us grandmulitparus women.  I thought I had just done too much the day before and it would all calm down by morning.  By the time I accepted that it was actually ‘game time’,  it was too late to try to slow things down.   

      This time I will not be so foolish.  I am doing everything I can to keep this little guy tucked up tight for at least three more weeks.  I am resting more than ever,  propping up  my feet and relaxing.  I am drinking lots of fresh water,  vitawater,  pregnancy blend tea, and  Angel Milk.  I am working hard to reach that 100 grams of protein each day.  (Requiescat in Pace Dr. Brewer)  I am eating many fresh fruits and vegetables.  I am taking my vitamins faithfully.    In other words,  I am working very hard to get this little guy everything he needs for a good start.  If I begin to feel uneasy,  if braxton-hicks become to ‘edgy’ or long,  if I sense anything may be impending,  I will put my feet up,  brew some catnip tea or have a beer.   I will drink gallons of fluids,  and call my dear midwife.  We will do what we can to stop things until a better time. 

   I do know that even with all of my good intentions and efforts,  this baby does not belong to me or my husband.  This child is God’s alone.  He has a grand plan for this baby,  that has been from the begining of time.    Part of His plan for him is to be carried and cared for by me.  I am humbled that Our Lord would choose me to help carry on His work for  one soul,  let alone nine.  Most days I feel so inadequate for this job.  I am tired, cranky, fickle, and moody.  I do not do this duty justice. 

      In the end it all comes down to Trust.   My prayer in times of worry, concern, unrest, and uncertainty is “Jesus I trust in You”.    If I can do that,  nothing else matters!

About Lisbet

We are a Catholic homeschooling family of 13. (so far!) We are devoted to our Lord and our faith, open to the blessings of children, and enjoy learning and growing together in our joyfully chaotic home.

7 responses »

  1. Praying for you and that precious baby.

    Thank you for this post, particularly the last three sentences.

    Reply
  2. Beautiful post. Praying here for your family as the time draws near.

    Reply
  3. The last two paragraphs touched my heart. What a lovely witness you are. Thank you for writing this.

    We will continue to pray for you and your beautiful family.

    Reply
  4. Lisa,
    Praying for your and your little one; he is blessed to have such a loving and caring mom and a family so happy to greet him when he arrives (hopefully in about three weeks!).

    Reply
  5. Beautifully said!
    I’m so excited for you as you prepare to welcome your wee one.

    Reply
  6. Such a beautiful post! I needed that just about now. Prayers that you don’t go into labor – just yet! ;0) Please say a prayer that I DO go into labor – I’m overdue, and will be induced on Monday if nothing happens before then.

    Reply
  7. Many blessings to you during these final weeks! Lovely post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

