RSS Feed

Lenten Pretzels

Posted on

The children and I made a batch of Traditional Lenten Pretzels this morning.  We enjoyed them for a light lunch with yogurt and boiled eggs.   

PRETZEL PRAYER

We beg you, O Lord, to bless these breads which are to remind us that Lent is a sacred season of penance and prayer. For this very reason, the early Christians started the custom of making these breads in the form of arms crossed in prayer. Thus they kept the holy purpose of Lent alive in their hearts from day to day, and increased in their souls the love of Christ, even unto death, if necessary.

Grant us, we pray, that we too, may be reminded by the daily sight of these pretzels to observe the holy season of Lent with true devotion and great spiritual fruit. We ask this through Christ our Lord. Amen.

Traditional Pretzel Recipe

*1 pkg. dry yeast                       *4 c. flour

*1 1/4 c. warm water                * 1/4 c. melted butter

*1 tsp. salt                                   * 1 beaten egg

*1 tbsp. sugar

   Dissolve yeast in water.  Add salt and sugar.  Blend in flour.  Knead dough until smooth.   Cut into small pieces.  Roll into ropes and twist into pretzel shape.  Place on lightly greased cookie sheets.  Brush pretzels with beaten eggs.   Sprinkle with coarse salt if desired.  Bake at 375 about 15 minutes. 

~ Best served with lots  and lots of sugar!

About Lisbet

We are a Catholic homeschooling family of 13. (so far!) We are devoted to our Lord and our faith, open to the blessings of children, and enjoy learning and growing together in our joyfully chaotic home.

5 responses »

  1. Wow — they look great Lisa!! And I love the picture of the kids sleeping in the header. Sooooo cute.

    Reply
  2. The perfect Lenten snack. And yours look like they turned out quite yummy.

    Reply
  3. I thought I’d stop by your blog to let you know that I FINALLY have my birth story written for Jackson who is already 6 months old, sitting up and has a tooth. I’ve never waited this long to write (finish) a birth story–my other four were done the first week.

    And I see that you’re expecting again too. Congratulations. My best to you.

    And I’m going to have to make some pretzels–I already make my own bread, but hadn’t thought of making pretzels too. The kids will enjoy that!

    Reply
  4. Those pretzels look great. I’m wondering about the recipe, though. It doesn’t say what the melted butter is for. Do you let the dough rise or shape it and bake it right away? I’m eager to make some. I’m a new Catholic who is eagerly searching for traditional things to make the liturgical seasons of the year more real to my kids (and me, too) and decided to try the Lenten pretzels.

    Thanks for a blog about Catholic family life. I don’t have many examples to follow!

    Reply
  5. I used to have a list of what all the ingredients symbolise – i.e. water for life, bitter herbs (when gardlic is used) for suffering – do you know the rest of these symbols?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

