RSS Feed

How we made our Advent Cubes

Posted on

  Alice shared a simple way to make paper cubes,  and it reminded me of how we made our own wooden Advent Cubes.     I didn’t want to order them online because the shipping would cost more than the cubes themselves.  I hardly ever make it out to go shopping.  My husband does all of the errand running and shopping on his way to and fro work.    One day he called to tell me he was stopping by the home improvement store on his way home to pick up new downspouts.    I  knew I had to get stared on these cubes so I sweetly said, “Honey,  could you please stop by Hobby Lobby and  pick up a package of 24 three quarter inch wood cubes?”.    Being the logical creature that he so dearly is, he replied, “Why would I do that when I can just pick up a dowel rod and cut them for you myself?”   Of course!  What was I thinking??  And that is exactly what he did!

 

Yes,  that is a circular saw,  never too early to teach the boys to use power tools!  Can you see the two little girl faces peeking out of the window in the second picture? 

 Viola! Advent Cubes ready to be decorated!

This may explain a why our neighbors think we’re odd! 🙂 

About Lisbet

We are a Catholic homeschooling family of 13. (so far!) We are devoted to our Lord and our faith, open to the blessings of children, and enjoy learning and growing together in our joyfully chaotic home.

6 responses »

  1. Thank God for handy hubbies! I will look forward to seeing them once they are decorated.

    I wish we had Hobby Lobby on our side of town. The closest is in Medina which is quite a haul.

    Reply
  2. I love it! What a sweetheart. The kids are too cute.

    Reply
  3. You made me laugh with your comment about the neighbors. I really like your idea of the pregnant candle. What a cute name. Last night my husband drilled tiny holes in wooden ornaments for us, here your husband’s outside with the circular saw….a homeschooling Dad’s work is never done…

    Reply
  4. How clever.
    Teaches the children that there is more than one way to do things. Perfect!

    Reply
  5. I love the idea, too! You’re right, most of the advent things are too long or difficult for my littles. Thanks for letting me know about this.

    Your children are gorgeous, Lisbet. 🙂

    You know, you mentioned something i could relate to. I don’t get out to many stores, either. Hubby runs most of the errands.

    Thanks for your beautiful blog. I’m always blessed here. 🙂

    Holly

    Reply
  6. BTW, I wanted to thank you for listing my blogs in your sidebar, especially Babylove as it does not often get linked anywhere. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

