RSS Feed

Old Fashioned Aprons

Posted on

I spent an hour this morning making myself an apron.  I have a few of the store bought variety.  My daughter Abigail will not work in the kitchen without putting one one.    Being fashion conscience  picky,  I wanted something prettier and more feminine.   I didn’t follow a pattern,  I just knew what I wanted and set forth making it.    The print is Alexander Henry’s “Pikes Peak Patchwork”.  (I love patchwork!)  I made the apron strings extra long to wrap around twice,  or,  if we are so blessed,  to fit around a pregnant belly.   (Or,  are they extra long to accomodate keeping all of my children tied to my apron strings?!:)  I must say it works pretty well.  It took me through lunch,   baking,  three sinkfulls of dishes, and laundry,  and my skirt is dry and spotfree!    I think I’ll make Abigail a new one too! 

About Lisbet

We are a Catholic homeschooling family of 13. (so far!) We are devoted to our Lord and our faith, open to the blessings of children, and enjoy learning and growing together in our joyfully chaotic home.

4 responses »

  1. I like your apron. Do I see pleats in the front? I have one I’m sewing by hand and hope to have it on my blog in a week or two and by the way, I admire your clean kitchen from the photo.
    ladiestea.wordpress.com Elizabethian Tea

    Reply
  2. What a pretty apron! When I am in the last couple of months of pregnancy, none of my aprons fit. Brilliant idea to make the strings longer, just in case :)!

    Reply
  3. Very cute! The girls have been working on their own aprons and this inspires me to make one for me.

    I so enjoy reading your blog…you’ve done a beautiful job!

    Reply
  4. Truly lovely. Who would have thought an apron could look so great?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

