RSS Feed

Managing the Menu

Posted on

  I started using this method about a year ago and it’s the only one that’s stuck.  My husband started doing the grocery shopping last year also (taking 7 kids, 10 and under, grocery shopping once a week just  got to be TOO MUCH!)  and this system makes it easier on both of us. 

  The day I make our menu and grocery list I get out my notebook, calender, and cookbooks.  I like to refer to feast days for the upcoming week and plan at least one dish or dessert to go along with a feast day or with the liturgical season.   Next week we will make St. John Capistrano Ginger Snap Cookies.   I have found Building the Family Cookbook by Suzanne Fowler to be very helpful in incorporating the liturgical calander into our meals.    Then I make a plan for breakfast, lunch and dinner for each day of the week.    I even try to plan our snack for each day,   this saves someone from eating something that I had other plans for!   I post this menu on the front of the refrigerator.  The children like getting up in the morning and knowing what we will be eating each day,  and I like referring to so I know what I have to prepare.    I make a grocery list straight from the menu and my husband gets what I put on the list.  There may be a better method out there,  but this is working for us for the time being.  I’d love to hear how other families manage this task.

St. John Capistrano Ginger Snap Cookies

  The feast of St. John Capistrano is October 23.   He was a Franciscan priest that became became known as the “Hero of Hungary”  after leading  70,000 Christian troops to victory at the Siege of Belgrade in 1456.  He was also influential in bringing the wandering Franciscans back to the rule of St. Francis.  The color of these cookies are the color of the Franciscan habit God called St. John to wear.  These are great with a steamy cup of tea!

1 1/2 cup shortening

2 cup sugar

1/4 cup dark molasses

2 eggs

4 cups flour

3 t. soda

2 t. cinnamon

2 t. ginger

1 t. cloves

1 t. salt

  Cream shortening and sugar.  Add molasses and eggs.  Sift dry ingredients and work into the above mixture.  Form into balls about the size of large walnuts.  Roll in granulated sugar.  Place on an un-greased cookie sheet.  Bake at 375 degrees for 8-10 minutes.  You will want to take these out before they look brown. 

About Lisbet

We are a Catholic homeschooling family of 13. (so far!) We are devoted to our Lord and our faith, open to the blessings of children, and enjoy learning and growing together in our joyfully chaotic home.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu « Joyful Chaos

  2. I noticed your interest in other large families meal planning. I am the mother of 10 (soon to be 13 ,we are adopting three) and I have a few posts on my blog about meal planning. Click on Feeding the Crew in the catagories, if you’re interested.

    Reply
  3. Just realized my blog link didn’t show up. Here it is:
    http://www.bakersdozen.typepad.com

    Reply
  4. Thanks so much Renee!!! You have a beautiful, just beautiful, family!! I will be visiting your blog often!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

