RSS Feed

Why are We Doing This – My Story

Posted on

  Bridget recently wrote this piece on her blog,  Our Magnum Opus  .    Then Alice at Cottage Blessings wrote this heartwarming account.  Both of these wonderfully dedicated mothers caused me to stop and think about my own reasons for living this joyfully chaotic lifestyle.    I could list the many sweet things my children say to me each day,  the pictures they paint for me,  the way they are always making me giggle.  Or how my husband,  even after nearly 12 years of marriage,  still sweeps me off my feet,  makes my heart skip a beat when he walks through the door each evening,  and brings me ice cream for no reason! 😉     I’ve been very blessed to have so many of these moments of consolation,  or kisses from Christ,  as I like to call them.    Christ knows me and all of my weaknesses,  and I have no doubts that all of these wonderful temporal affections I receive from my family are little ‘gifts’ from Him.    But,  I don’t ‘do’ of this work to receive those things.  Sure,  they are nice and they make it easier to get out of the bed in the morning.   The reason, though,  is simply that it is what God has called me to do.  I know that the only way I can experience true peace and joy is to constantly re-dedicate myself to following His will in each and every moment.    In doing that,  He supplies me with sufficient grace to accomplish each of the one hundred million tasks that one must tend to when managing a large bustling household.  It is only when I neglect to turn to Him and say “For You, my Lord”  that I find myself, exasperated in a sea of little people, screaming “WHY AM I DOING THIS”!!!!

About Lisbet

We are a Catholic homeschooling family of 13. (so far!) We are devoted to our Lord and our faith, open to the blessings of children, and enjoy learning and growing together in our joyfully chaotic home.

One response »

  1. How very true this is! These are things that should be at the forefront of our minds as we go about each day.

    You most certainly have a beautiful “sea of little people,” by the way!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

